#19 Ephraim Walters Jr. {52 Ancestors}

Ephraim Walters Jr. was my husband’s 4 times great grandfather on his mother’s side.  He was born on May 27, 1776 in Fayette Co, PA and died in the same city on 17 April 1865.  I wonder what he was really like in real life, because judging by his photo he looks like the grumpiest man alive!

 photo EphraimWaltersJr.jpg

Ephraim was the son of Ephraim Walters Sr. (1744-1835), he had a super interesting life- and his wife Mary Debolt (1747-1842).  Ephraim Jr was the 4th of 10 children.

According to the book Centennial Portrait and Biographical Record of the City of Dayton and of Montgomery County, Ohio Pub: A. W. Bowen & Co. 1897:

“Ephraim Walters, also a native of Fayette county, was born in 1776, was reared a farmer, and, while still a young man, also engaged in trading, and as early as 1800 floated flour to New Orleans, La., on a keel-boat.  In 1803 he married Miss Elizabeth Ache, daughter of a Dunkard preacher, and thenceforward confined himself to agricultural pursuits, and died at the ripe old age of ninety-one years.”

In 1803, (when he was 27) he married Elizabeth Ache (1778-1848) who was 25 at the time.  The two had 7 children:
Hannah (1820-1904)-married David Hibbs (she is my husband’s maternal 3 times great grandmother)
Jefferson (1810-1898)
Ephraim III (1813-1903)
Charity (1805-1875)
as well as Michael, John, and Elizabeth (the last three died as infants)

I wish I knew more about who this man was.  I have found him on the 1850 census in Fayette Co. (working as a farmer) as well as on the 1860 census in the same place (retired and living with his son Ephraim)

Sometime between 1848 when his wife Elizabeth died and the 1850 census he remarried a woman named Harriet Tarr Hesth (who was about 23 years younger than him).

Ephraim died on April 17, 1865 in Fayette Co, PA.

I wish I knew more about who this man was, was her really as grumpy as his photo might indicate?  I found this second photo of him online and he looks just as irritated!
 photo WaltersEphriamjr.jpg

And Finally here is a scrapbook page about him, I still need to do his write up page, but I have the photo one done at least!

 photo connie-ephraimwalters.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “#19 Ephraim Walters Jr. {52 Ancestors}

  1. Pingback: 52 Ancestors Challenge: Week 22 Recap | No Story Too Small

  2. Jonathan Walters

    Greetings. I was so surprised to find your photograph of my g.g.g. grandfather, Ephraim Walters Jr (1776-1865) on line. I am the owner of the other photograph of Ephraim which you found on line, inherited in my family (my grandfather was born on the original Ephraim Walters Sr farm in Fayette County). You might be interested to know that my aunt, who is nearly 93, is writing a novel about the experiences of our ancestor Mary [Debolt] Walters. We all grew up with the legend of Ephraim Sr. being captured by the Indians. I did a lot of genealogy as a child and am the person who discovered the original newspaper articles about the murder of Casper Walter and the release of his sons Ephraim and John (there were also two daughters, one of whom became the ancestress of the famous “Statler Hotel” Statlers), as well as much of the other Walters family information which you have posted. It is all contained in my GENEALOGICAL RECORDS OF SOME EARLY FAYETTE COUNTY BRETHREN (1979) which I compiled in high school. I in turn drew heavily on the work of the great genealogist Harold Reed Hibbs (1897-1978), son of John Gibson (“Gip”) Hibbs (1862-1941) and grandson of David and Hannah (Walters) Hibbs. He willed me his genealogy notebooks, with the caveat that if I did not publish them, I should give them to the LDS library in Salt Lake City. All these years I have held on to them, intending to return to genealogy, though I am embarrassed to admit that it never happened (however, much of his work is published in my book). Just the other day I was thinking that it is time to honor Mr. Hibbs’ wishes and send the notebooks to Salt Lake City. And then this morning I stumbled onto your website, as though by fate. Would you perhaps like to have the notebooks? I think Mr. Hibbs would be so delighted to know that one of his relatives is working on the family history again. In any event. I send you best wishes for a Happy New Year 2016, from your husband’s distant cousin. Sincerely yours, Jonathan Walters (hidden)

    • mvillhauer

      Thank you so much! I will email you right away 🙂

      • Penny Avenoso

        Do you have any documentation regarding Mary Ann Walters Dally being the daughter of George Washington Walters???

    • Penny Avenoso

      I stumbled upon the Ephraim Walters information quite by accident. i am looking for documentation that Mary Ann Walters Dally (b. 1805) is the daughter of George Washington Walters. Can you help???

      • Jonathan Walters

        I do show Mary Ann Walters as daughter of George Walters (1770-1844), married John Dally or Daily (d. 1869) and had ten children, of whom I have the names of four. I did the research many years ago and unfortunately do not remember the source of the information…I am currently abroad but will see if I can find the records in my files after I return. In the meantime would be glad to send you the chapters on the Walters and DeBolt families from my “Genealogical Records of Some Early Fayette County Brethren” if you are interested. If so, please send me an email address to which I could send the PDF. Best wishes, Jonathan Walters

  3. Sherry Sparks

    Hello distant relatives! I am descended from George Washington Walters, son of Ephraim senior. I am interested in any information or pictures you might have of Ephraim senior and Mary DeBolt. Would love to read that book about Mary.

    • Jonathan Walters

      Hello, my aunt’s novel about Mary (DeBolt) Walters is still unfinished, but in the meantime I’d be happy to send you copies of the chapters on the Walters and DeBolt families from my “Genealogical Records of Some Early Fayette County Brethren,” if you’d like them…I just need a mailing address (if you want a Xerox) or email address (if you want a scan). Unfortunately there are no known pictures of Ephraim Sr. or Mary; both died before the advent of photography. Best wishes, Jonathan Walters

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

