#23 Elsie Holle ~ 52 Ancestors

Scan-110101-0014

This week, as I work to catch up, I will write about my dad’s grandmother, Elsie Holle (also sometimes Elsa).

My dad’s grandmother was named Elsie Holle.  She was born on April 25, 1886 to Gustav Holle and his wife Thekla Burgarth.  Elise was an only child.  Thekla had given birth to a stillborn son on February 17, 1888.  Then her mother died just one year later giving birth to a second son who also died.  I’m not sure if he was a still born or died during or shortly after being born.  I found a birth record for the son of March 22, 1889 with no name. Thekla’s death record is dated March 23, 1889. She was only 31 years old.

Elsie was born in Pennsylvania. I’m not sure exactly what part of Pennsylvania she was born in as I do not have a birth record yet for her, but I have found her Baptismal record stating that she was Baptized on April 24, 1887 at the Emanuel Lutheran Church in Philadelphia, PA.

I find her living in Delaware, PA with her father in the 1910 census. In 1914, Elsie married Frederick Reighel (Fredrico VonReighel) who was born in 1882 in Austria and came to the US on September 10, 1910.

The two had just one child, Anna Dorthea Reighel–pronounced “Regal”-like royalty.

According to Gustav’s 1921 passport-declaring him as legal guardian of Anna Dorthea, Elsie died on October 27 1920. Frederick Reighel had been in contempt of court and not seen since 1916 (when Dorthea was only about two years old.) I finally found Elsa’s death record after searching forever.  She died from Septicemia from an infected lip.  She spent 3 days in the hospital before dying at 12:20 pm on October 27, 1920.

I wonder what her story was. Why was Fredrick so in contempt of court that he fled the city and left his wife and young daughter behind? I hope to someday find the answers to these questions and to understand more about my great grandmother.

 

I only just finally found her death record. Her name had been listed as Elsie Keighel instead of Reighel.
elsaholledeathrecord

And here’s her scrapbook pages:
elsieholle

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

